Team of the Year 2018-19. Guinness Pro 14 League

A season is almost at an end bar the playoff finals. For the Welsh regions, it has been a mixed year. Ospreys and the Scarlets are going to play each other for the final Heineken Champions Cup spot next weekend, so there will one sole Welsh representative in the elite European club competition.

The national team has had a fantastic year but the regions the same descriptive word cannot be given. The Scarlets who last year was a real force in all competitions struggled. A big part of this was down to a spate of injuries but still a disappointing year. Ospreys have ended the season with a run of positive results but overall the season has been one of frustration. Cardiff Blues have suffered a few narrow defeats when in good positions in games, but will be disappointed as no doubt the aim was to remain in the Heineken Champions Cup for next season (still a potential possibility as mentioned earlier), and the Dragons have yet again really struggled through the season.

Bearing all of this in mind, here is Y Ddraig’s Welsh regions combined team of the year for the Pro 14 League.

15. Dan Evans (Ospreys)

14. Johnny McNicholl (Scarlets)

13. Rey Leelo (Cardiff Blues)

12. Owen Watkin (Ospreys)

11. Owen Lane (Cardiff Blues)

10. Gareth Anscombe (Cardiff Blues)

9. Tomos Williams (Cardiff Blues)

1. Nicky Smith (Ospreys)

2. Ken Owens (Scarlets)

3. Samson Lee (Scarlets)

4. Cory Hill (Dragons)

5. Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys)

6. Aaron Wainwright (Dragons)

8. Nick Williams (Cardiff Blues)

7. Justin Tipuric (Ospreys)

A few players can count themselves unlucky such as Jonathan Davies, Adam Beard, James King, Josh Navidi and Olly Robinson just to name a few but basing it on the Pro 14 League alone these are our selections.

If you do not agree with the selections what would be your choices? Who gets into your side? Let us know!